We danced, loved and you never departed my heart


We danced, loved and you never departed my heart

A Poem by Coyote Poetry


Old poetry with a re-write


  We danced , loved and you never departed my heart.

I’m 55 year old.

I don’t believe I’m wiser than when life was to be lived

and challenged.


Time is moving so quickly. Old dreams and wishes appear in my mind.


I want to go back to Monterey and sit upon the sand.

I would play some Leonard Cohen,

drink some sweet wines and dream of you. 


We allowed our lives to become apart.

You went on  to travel the world and  I was left wishing for you.


In sweet dream I dream I never stop loving you and celebrating being alive.

I see us with friends.

Dancing and holding so tightly by the lights of the Monterey night.


I wonder do you ever think of me?

Did you find someone to light up your wild and beautiful spirit?


I close my eyes.

Remember our long sweet kisses leading to our bodies interlocked till the morning light.


We walked the beaches of Monterey for 6 months.

Two hands and hearts holding tightly for we knew our time to dance, love

and  celebrate being together would be but a moment in a life.


I don’t feel sadness for the sweet memories of you still warm up my old heart today.


I wish one day to find you. Tell you thank you for teaching me love

and how to  dance by the light of the Monterey moon and celebrate being alive.