Melanin Muslimah


Please read and enjoy the work of a talented writer.

Naila Aroni

Shy Muslim girl,
Eyes low like a sunset,
Back turned like a dartboard.
I rise each day to leave my mark on the earth without borrowing my brothers shoes.
I rise each day to leave my footprints in the sands of time without being pricked by the thorns of misogyny.

Melanin Muslim girl,
Heart heavy as a sunset.
Hijab tighter than a chokehold.
“How are you Muslim and African?”
“You’re too dark to be a Muslim.”
I rise each day knowing the blacker the berry will always equal the less devout the juice.
“I can’t breathe!”…
Strangled by the hands of my very own sisters.

Fierce Muslim girl,
Fighting through the tears Muslim girl.
Powerful Muslim girl,
No longer Doubtful Muslim girl.
I rise each day asked why I am sharp tongued.
Perhaps its because this world that birthed me gave me no weapons.

dsc_0407Photography: Kaniz Sheikh

View original post

