There is a swan bathing in my mouth.


Please read the powerful words of a talented writer.

live in the layers

It was very hard for me to choose just one of the powerfully mystifying poems from Jane Wong’s recently-published first book, OVERPOURso I urge you to explore more of her work if you can.

web1_160817-sea-cult-notebook

“Field Notes Toward War”

The war is not over.
The streets are lined with little lamps of snow,

melting. Water pours without end.
There is a swan bathing in my mouth.

I have made a mess of it all.
Cotton in my eyes, too much

cast on my arm. All around me,
the mountains hum

a broth of air. A little on the tongue
is enough to feed. My eyes rinsed out

make a river large enough
to carry that which diminishes. I’m afraid

I will never make it home.

*

My mother feeds more envelopes during night shift.
The deer shift in limb light.

In the morning, we rake the yard.
She falls…

View original post 117 more words

