“Barefoot dreams”


Barefoot dreams

A Story by Coyote Poetry

"

Good places and friends make distance places good dreams in old age.

"

     Barefoot dreams

I met the Sergeant Major nightly at the Bowling alley, dance club and bar at Seaside. He was forced retired and slowly dying. You would never know it. He maintained his Texas smile and drank the pain away with whiskey. He wouldn’t take the pain medicine given to him by the V.A. He told me. Make him numb, dumb  and tire. His kidney and liver was gone. I knew him for three years since I came to Fort Ord. California. He was a Korean war and Vietnam vet. He saw me walk-in and waved me over. He had two young woman with him. He was famous for drinking and having money to spend. Sergeant Major told them. This is a real war hero. He takes care of me. Ensure the old man can find his house every night. Johnnie is the best. He is like a son I never had. Treat him good. The long-legged and auburn hair beauty asked me my rank. I told her Sergeant. She smiled and she asked me. Do you have a girl here yet? I gave her my big Michigan smile and I told her. Not yet. Waiting for someone like you.

She spoke with a Southern accent and she asked me. You like the Southern girls? We are not tamed and can be wild cats. I told her. I like the not tamed woman and I’m afraid of the wildcats. The can bite and have sharp nails. She laughed at me and requested a beer. I ordered two beer and we found a quiet corner and table. She told me she was a Kentucky girl with a three-year old baby boy and my name is Angela. I told her. I like kids and long legs. She smiled and reached over  and gave me a quick kiss and asked. Do you dance the two-step? I told her. I know enough to get us started. I took her hand and we slow dance to Tim Mcgraw “Don’t take the girl”. She told me the bar is closing. You want to buy some beers and wander to the Seaside beach. I told her would be my pleasure. But first I will take Sergeant Major home and then I’m your to do with. She gave me a sly smile and whispered. Be careful what you wish for. Sometime you start a fire that can’t be put out.

Sergeant Major had a shit eating grin. Angela sat between us in my truck . He told us. I lived almost sixties years. I saw too much shit and today I feel lucky. His big arms were around Angela. She laid her head in his big shoulders. Angela, don’t worry about me.  Everyone must die. If we are lucky. We decide the final place and time. Johnnie is okay. He is a Soldier’s soldier. Won’t leave his brother behind. He don’t pity me and I’m thankful. A good life and death is with friend near. He gave Angela a big juicy kiss on her neck as he left my truck by his apartment in Seaside. He waved goodbye and slowly walked to his apartment.

Angela had soft tears in her eyes. She hid her sadness like I did. Sergeant Major didn’t like weakness or sadness. I told her. He is okay. He decided to die his way. With his first love the sea and the coastline near. Not a bad way to go. Angela smiled and she told me. I like you truck. Trucks are cool. Where you taking me tonight Soldier? I told her to the Seaside beach. We will park the truck by the Seaside entrance. We will walk to the rocks and watch the sea. She smiled and came closer to me. She said she like to be cozy by the sea with some beer. It will be perfect. We found the rocks and I sat down. She tossed off her shoes and started dancing with the waves.  I watched beautiful Angela run to and fro from the current. She lifted her dress and I saw perfect long legs and dancing muse in my view. I thank the Gods of the moon and the stars. Thank you for the barefoot dream. Southern woman, warm night and no place to go.

She come to me and she told me. My feet are cold. I told her to sit down near. I caressed her feet and legs. She told me. Nothing can equal the beauty and the power of the Pacific. I reached over and told her. You can.

woman fotokritik com 2

Coyote/John Castellenas

