Love, dance and celebrate being alive…


Love, Dance and celebrate being alive…

She was so beautiful. Five foot eleven inches in height. A slim and perfect body. Tan legs I desired to caress the moment I saw her walking by one morning. Long flowing auburn hair. Dark brown eyes that could melt me away with a smile and a tender look.

She  teased me at the beginning. Asked me take me to Big Surf. She told me. “I want to walk nude on the beach. Lay all day on the sand for you to see me all day.” We were not lover’s yet. She knew how to make me smile. I would contemplate it and I offered a ride to Big Surf as soon as possible.

We got get to Big Surf. Always too damn cold for even the nudist. We went go to the River Inn and drank a lot of beer and whiskey. Enjoyed the silence. Watched the beauty of the people and river flowing. At the River Inn the booze was good. Always live music.

I would look into her brown eyes and listen. She had great dreams. She loved my wild spirit and poetry. I was famous for the crazy things I did. I met her the first time at the Military clinic. I messed up my ribs suicide boarding the big storm of Winter on the Monterey coast. She asked to hear the story.

I fell in love with her the first moment she walked by me in her P.T shorts. Her tan long legs made me crazy. I was five foot eight inches in height. She was close to six feet.  I timed my lunches so I could eat with her.  I was afraid to ask her out. She was so beautiful.  At the third lunch  together she asked. Would I take her to San Francisco? I said no problem.

I picked her up. She wore a short skirt and tight t-sheet. No bra. I couldn’t look at her too long. I thank the Lord of life and death for this beautiful woman. We got to San Francisco late in the evening. We roamed the city for hours. Finding all the secret corner of the wild and crazy city. We found a bar that made homemade beer. We drank till we were blinded.

We awoke in the back of my truck. I was laying on her chest. I Slobbered all over her breast. We laughs and begin a new day roaming San Francisco.

Now months later. We have traveled the coastline many times. Trying to see everything. We are sitting on the beach in Santa Cruz. She asked me. What is life? Just a road aiming toward death?

I brought her to her feet. We begin to dance on the beach. I kissed her sweet lips. Brought her body close. I whispered. “Life is to love, dance and celebrate being alive.”

She had a apartment. She ran inside and she took a shower. I sat in her small apartment. A bed, dresser and a small kitchen. $1,000 a month for a studio apartment in Monterey. She came out wrap in a small towel. Told me my back is sore. I told her to lay down and I will give you a massage. She has a sparkle in her eye tonight. I never try to have sex with her. Soft kisses, holding hands and laughter held us together.

I got the lotion. Caressed her left feet first. I could see her strong and perfect body. Her towel was gone now. She wasn’t afraid. She wasn’t young or innocent. She looked at me as I rubs lotion on her leg and back. I rotated to the other leg caressing slow and easy. I kiss her feet and legs..  She asked. What will happen to us? I whispered. I don’t know. I will be leaving for Texas. You are going to stay here in Monterey to be a nurse..

In the morning I got up early. Brought bread and coffee to her from the near by bakery. She asked was last night okay? I told her. I have no place to go now. I know paradise now. Only way for me to go is hell now.

A tear came to her eyes. She asked. Stay every night till you leave. I need you here with me. I whispered. I will. I didn’t want to say much. I had less then a month at Fort Ord., Ca. I would be going to Fort Hood, Texas soon.

We traveled less now. We went to the Monterey Bay. Drank and talks till the sun appears. We both like the taste of beer and whiskey. We were a good partnership for a early death.

I held her close every night. Breathing in her sweet smell of her hair. Caressing her long legs and wishing for these days never to end. My heart was breaking. We never spoke of love. I read to her often poetry and stories of love. I believe we passed that stage where love is the salvation. The true test of love is 50 years together and holding on.

At the end she was stronger then me. The passion and emotion of our sex got harder and more desperate. She told me on a  night at the hill on Pacific Grove. Old Poet. Life ain’t fair. My ass isn’t going to Texas. You are not going AWOL. We will stay friends and have so much to remember.

“We loved, danced and celebrated being alive.”

I love you sweet Poet.

I kissed her.
I told her she will be my last sweet dream and I loved her so.
She whispered “I will always love you too.”

                          Coyote